Platinum Preppy

Platinum Preppy

I picked up one of these things as a lark, about a year ago, mostly because well, I was getting tired of buying and throwing away $3 gel pens. This came free with a giant bottle of Noodler’s Baystate Blue, along with a marker pen that’s currently living life as a makeshift refillable highlighter. The vast majority of this bottle of Baystate is still in existence, and I dare say that it will probably be many a year before I finish off the bottle, especially since I rather do prefer the ink diluted in water, three parts ink to one part water.

You may note the entire lack of any logo on this pen, while most Preppies have, uh, quite the bit of kawaii markings on it, so it looks closer to this. I also hear that current Preppies that are included with Noodler’s ink now bear a Noodler’s logo. So. Yeah. You might be out of luck if you want a logo-free one nowadays.

The “normal” Preppies have cartridges (which I wasn’t planning on using anyways) and a converter which costs far more than the pen itself, but you can just fill the barrel up with ink, seal it up with an #5 o-ring and a bit of silicone grease. The ones from Noodler’s are already converted, and can’t accept cartridges or converters anymore. “Normal” Preppies come in 0.5mm (medium) and 0.3 mm (fine); the ones that come with some bottles of Noodler’s ink are fine. That said, water-based ink tends to spread a bit on the cheaper papers I prefer.

So.

The Good

Gotta have the incomprehensible Latin text somewhere

Just a little bit of writing…

This pen works very reliably. I’ve ignored it for weeks on end, inked, and it’ll write when I need it again. Absolutely lovely inner cap, really, especially considering I’m using a particularly high-maintenance ink in it. It certainly can be left uncapped for a couple of minutes while I sit and think, although I wouldn’t leave it uncapped for long.

It’s a hardy little pen that I can lend out to other people if necessary; it actually write pretty well even if someone holds it upside down or sideways or something, and a little pressure doesn’t seem to have hurt it yet. Additionally, it’s survived more than a year hanging around in my backpack with only a few cracks in the cap, which I fixed with packaging tape. Not bad for a cheap plastic pen, and with the tape, it still seals quite well.

As for the plastic itself, I hear it’s supposed to feel “cheap” but frankly, it, uh, feels like pretty solid plastic to me, no less solid than a G2’s. Maybe that’s my cheap pen perspective coming in, but I didn’t find the plastic cheap-feeling.

It’s a small, light pen so it doesn’t suffer from any balance issues. I have rather small hands, and it’s pretty comfortable to use.

As an eyedropper, it’s pretty good about not burping ink; at least, I haven’t run into ink-burping issues yet, and it’s been a year.

And finally, for some reason, I just really like watching the ink slosh around in the barrel.

The Bad

The plastic is rather fragile apparently; the cap has already cracked and is currently held together with a bit of packing tape. The barrel seems to be made from thicker plastic.

While you can remove the nib, you can’t remove the feed for cleaning. Not a problem for me; this pen is unlikely to see any ink that’s not Baystate Blue, but still.

The Personal

ie things I care about, but most people won’t.

Firstly, the 0.3 mm tip is a tad bit wider than what I’d like, especially on cheap paper, where liquid ink will spread a bit. I write exceptionally tiny, and was used to 0.35 mm gel pens. This 0.3 mm is wider. Not by much, but a bit wider.

As for smoothness, I’ll happily admit I don’t know. Feels perfectly fine to me; actually, I find the Pilot Metropolitan nib a tad bit too smooth.

Comments are closed.