Reducing waste

Reduce, reuse, recycle!

I’m going to try to reduce the amount of waste I generate to be approximately nil. Not sure how this is going to work, exactly, but

1) Recycling sort of counts as waste. I’m going to try to reduce the amount of recycling I have to do, but am going to just understand that it’s not possible to purchase some things sans containers. You know, like liquids.

2) Composting does not count as waste.

3) I’m exempting toilet paper, because that’s an ick barrier I haven’t managed to conquer yet.

Let’s see how this goes.

First up is tissues: I’m hemming some spare fabric into handkerchiefs right now 😀


Already done:

Nix on paper towels.

Menstrual products: you can read my annoyingly TMI Divacup review here.


Edited to add:

According to the EPA:

Between 1960 and 2007, the quantity of waste created by the average American doubled from 2.7 to 4.6 pounds per day.

Wow.

They also have this list of tips, most of which I’m already doing, so…


Emacs M-x spook: BCCI Mafia Compsec cracking global Ft. Bragg Ortega MP5K-SD explosion NATO Janet Reno enforcers weapons of mass destruction Delta Force chameleon man

4 responses to “Reducing waste